URL for Flight Training Exercises

Jeremy Kent

Dear all,

I am new to VATSIM and would like to complete some of the Flight Training Exercises. However, I'm on a Mac and so can't use the recommended smartCARS application. A kind person has written a MacOS app but I still need the URL to connect to, described as "the URL to the smartCARS frames.php or the URL with the vAMSYS VA-UUID". Can anyone provide this please?

Kind regards,

Jez

Jeremy Kent

Thank you Alex. I've just logged in with my VATSIM ID and 'secondary password' (set up on VATSIM UK) and... success, I can see my bookings! Too late for me to do a flight now I'm afraid, but I'll have a proper go tomorrow and report back.

Fingers crossed this is good news for us minority Mac users!

Kind regards,

Jez

Jeremy Kent
Posted (edited)

Dear Alex,

I've just completed FTE 5 - "Pasty Time" - and seem to have successfully logged the flight here at VATSIM UK via the Bellerophon smartCARS app on my Mac. Perhaps you could review it and check if it worked 100% at your end?

Looking at the flight details it only shows the target flight path on the map, not the actual, but still indicates that I passed with the correct date, landing rate and flight time.

'Looking forward to trying some of the other Flight Training Exercises as I found 'having to follow a plan' very enjoyable and learnt lots in the process.

Kind regards,

Jez

Screenshot 2021-04-27 at 12.52.24.jpg

Edited by Jeremy Kent
Alex Toff

Hi Jeremy,

Good to know it worked for you. It looks like we didn't receive any posreps from your smartcars client, so this is why your track doesn't show unfortunately - this  is likely an issue with the ported smartcars client and not something we can fix.

Have fun with the other exercises!

Jeremy Kent

Hi Alex,