Help for Rookies ; support script that changes on the fly.

Paul Robson

Hi. I'm a real beginner on 'real' ATC supported flights (VATSIM et al). It is somewhat nerve racking.

I found several online "scripts" that one could use, but I had a concept for making something that could change on the fly from a basic outline, with the script being updated as you go.

This is nothing more than a demo of an idea knocked together in half and hour at present, and is visually very rough and ready, but it does work well enough to show the idea.

A simple demo is this https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1UW55kfTeKYuo5N2XTeLOuRbhgJsqEDVc6Z__-t2JnMI/edit?usp=sharing - the script is on the left, and the optional values are on the right. The values can be edited on the fly as and when you like. It's a spreadsheet with words (and works AFAICS with most spreadsheets, including online ones).

Spreadsheets don't do words very well, so this is spreadsheet is generated from a script https://docs.google.com/document/d/1AGEjiu7HzzPdoozgPBuS2i8r1RRrQZm7wm2jp1s2MHE/edit?usp=sharing which is simple text subsititutions e.g. $CALLSIGN where you want a callsign.

As designed there is of course no flexibility to it ; the idea is more as a fallback for new pilots who aren't sure where to go or what to say next.

Worth thinking about ? Maybe not worth the effort ?

While crib sheets are helpful, I would suggest it's probably a touch too far to build exact words to repeat for a few reasons.

1) If you are just reading off a page and not really understanding or taking in what you're saying, you will not learn it and will be reliant on that crib forever.

2) What happens if someone is following the crib and gets something that doesn't fit with the verbatim in there? For example "taxi P, hold short of R".

3) The clearance is also missing from the crib. Is it a VFR clearance that they'll have? An IFR clearance? What are they allowed to do in each situation?