Sign in to follow this  
Harry Sugden

operations Process for updating documents

Harry Sugden

Although my availability is sporadic, when I am about, I would really like to help keep documents up to date. The current process of going through the Helpdesk adds an extra step to documentation updates in my view, and I would love to get started on some necessary changes to the Heathrow EGLL ADC vMATS and Crib Sheet.

So perhaps, a workflow along the lines of this might work?

• All master documents stored in a read only (Google Drive) folder, than members can download from
  • When updates need doing, and you're willing to make them, post on the appropriate document page to avoid duplication of work
  • When your updates are complete, upload to a pending review (Google Drive) folder - perhaps this script can help, but I'm no expert? - and submit a helpdesk ticket detailing what changes have been made
  • The document can then be reviewed by Operations, or posted on the documents forum for wider review - and hopefully approved!

Any other ideas on how this could be made more seamless? Or make it easier for updates to be made on time?

---

(Side note - though anyone using the VATSIM UK Document Template I hope will have installed the Alegre Sans font on the Branding Guidelines page!!!! 😄 )

Adam Turner

Could we have a Github repository solely for documentation issue tracking? Nothing actually in the repo but just use it to track when there are changes required for the documentation. Could also keep track of which changes are higher priority than others.