Andy Ford

discussion Continuous Improvement: Tower Syllabus

Andy Ford

How time flies! It's now been three months since we released the new VATSIM UK tower training syllabus. Since release, we've seen an increase in the number of exams coming through the system, with a strong pass rate.

Now that we've all had time to work with the new syllabus, it's time to look towards the next iteration and improvement. Therefore, we'd like to invite mentors and students to comment on how they're finding the syllabus and any feedback that they may have.

With any additions or improvements, we are hoping to retain the current paradigm of "if it's theory, then it's self-taught". If there's something that you've noticed students lacking with regards to theory because we haven't told them what they need and where to find it, please say and this can be added.

On the practical side, we're interested to know if there's anything that you would want to see added to the syllabus or integrated into an existing criterion. Or perhaps there's something that could be made clearer to aid understanding?

Once we've collected all the feedback, we'll update the syllabus and release the improved version.

Edited by Andy Ford

Adam Farquharson

For me, it is nearly perfect. Learning the theory as a student is something that you can do yourself and something you can do even before you even get a training place which gives you something to keep you interested while you are on the waiting list.