Taxiway Labelling

Ivan Yap

Hello,

I've always been curious to know: is there a way to add/enable taxiway identifiers to be present on Euroscope SMRs? I've had a look around but I can't seem to find anything on Euroscope to allow this, and there was a post about someone doing this before in this topic, but no clear way of how to do it. 

Thanks!

Hi Ivan,
Do you mean that instead of saying all of the holding points e.g 'J1' 'G4' etc, it says 'J' 'G' and shows the taxiway names? 

24 minutes ago, Fergus Walsh said:

Hi Ivan,
Do you mean that instead of saying all of the holding points e.g 'J1' 'G4' etc, it says 'J' 'G' and shows the taxiway names? 

Hey Fergus,

It would be nice if it had the holding points and the taxiway identifiers, but whether that's even possible - I don't know.

Edited by Ivan Yap

I think these can be added as free text, but I'm no expert on ES and the how so I will let someone else fill in the detail if I'm vaguely in the right direction or correct me otherwise.

I may be wrong but I seem to remember the VATUK sector file does not include them due to performance issues for some low end computers, you can add them yourself if you want to. 

These are some instructions from the VATUK Sector File Repo on GitHub

The data for this should be placed in \Airports{ICAO}\SMR\Labels.txt

The compiler will call for this data in the [LABELS] Section

The data should be either taken from the associated textual data (e.g for stand positions) or can be created using the .sline command in EuroScope to provide an uncluttered display (e.g. for Holding Point labels).

The text you wish to display should be at the start of the line with quote marks ("") surrounding it, followed by the coordinates, followed by a colour defintion such as "standHold"

"A1" N054.39.47.986 W006.11.50.773 standHold
"A2" N054.39.48.474 W006.11.57.580 standHold
"A3" N054.39.41.214 W006.12.25.046 standHold
"B" N054.39.32.855 W006.12.51.062 standHold